Potential Upcycle: Forgotten Doors

Nearly a decade ago I purchased five old (period appropriate) solid-core 5-panel doors with the intent of painting them and hanging them in place of the new (cheap and tacky) hollow-core 4-panel doors that lined my hallway. Thinking I would tackle the project in the next few months, I stored the doors in my basement where, as it turns out, projects and inspiration and motivation go to die. The doors are still there leaning against the far wall where I originally placed them, glaring bitterly at me whenever I pass.

I’ve been cleaning out the basement over the past few months, which has led me to spend considerable time contemplating their fates. It seems clear that my original plan is not to materialize, so now what? I’ve thought about numerous ways to repurpose them, but none have really felt quite right. (Or, more accurately, all my ideas have felt like yet another project that will never get started.)

And then last week I was wandering around the back yard, sighing heavily at all the unfinished (unstarted) projects outside, when I leaned on a section of rotted fence. And then I had an idea.

I did a little google image search, and found these:


Photo Source

Photo Source

Photo Source

Photo Source

Photo Source

Photo Source

That last one’s my favorite. Isn’t is fantastic? I kind of love it. What do you think?

He built his fences out of doors and made the trespassers into guests.”
~Patrick Edwards-Daugherty~

6 Comments

Filed under Garden, Home, Upcycling

6 responses to “Potential Upcycle: Forgotten Doors

  1. What neat ideas for old doors! Especially the fence.

  2. maggotko

    Wow! I’m glad to find my photo here and I’m happy you enjoy it 🙂

  3. J Lardizabal

    You’ll find the author of the quote, and the rest of his work, here:
    http://secretvespers.com/2008/01/14/the-door-fence/

  4. Thanks, @J! I’ve edited the quote attribution.

  5. AJP

    I’m currently collecting old doors off Craig’s list in Seattle to build this exact thing in my backyard! I was inspired by the sets in the movie West Side Story and Big Bird’s nest area. I’ve got some pretty cool doors so far!

  6. Pingback: Construyendo paredes con puertas viejas | this Charming home

Leave a Reply

