Sweating the small stuff

I’ve finally quit antiperspirant. (Mostly. I opted to wear it to a job interview because, you know, never let ’em see you sweat.) It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for  a while. Years, even. But, to be perfectly honest, I was a pretty good sweater in my 20s and I just wasn’t sure my corporate work environment would approve of me walking around with wet circles under the arms of all my shirts.

But now that I work from home, what better time to kick the habit? I’d been planning to go 100% hippie and make my own using a recipe similar to this. But I kept not getting around to making it… which meant I kept using antiperspirant… so in the end I broke down and bought a tube of Tom’s. And that, as they say, is all she wrote.

Except that I’m going to write some more.

I was pleasantly surprised by how little I sweated. I’m no longer in my 20s, which I’ve been told are prime sweat years. (Maybe it boosts pheromone production during our optimum baby-making years? I don’t know.) But using a deoderant only does require becoming comfortable with a little dampness in your armpits. It’s taken me some getting used to since, in the past, that wet sensation usually meant that I needed a shower.  Now it just means that my body is effectively regulating its temperature, and I’m no smellier because of it.

It’s safe to say I’m officially a convert. But when this tube runs out, I’m determined to make my own batch with even fewer chemicals and zero packaging waste.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment